Will you be required to get special insurance after if you are convicted of an Arlington DUI charge?
If you are convicted of DWI or DUI in Arlington County or the City of Falls Church, you will be required by law to provide the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) proof of your financial responsibility. This will require anyone found guilty of a DUI in Arlington to contact their insurance company and file an insurance form called an FR 44 with the DMV.
Any driver convicted of an Arlington DUI needs to maintain the FR 44 coverage for a period of three years. Virginia Code Section 46.2-316 also makes FR 44 insurance a requirement if a person is found guilty of driving after revocation of their license after an Arlington or Falls Church DUI conviction.
What is Virginia FR 44 insurance?
The Virginia required FR 44 insurance carries higher limits than minimum limits. The coverage limits for an FR 44 compliant policy are:
- Property damage in the amount of $40,000
- Bodily injury/death of one person $50,000
- Bodily injury/death of two or more persons $100,000
Additionally, a driver's insurance company must file the annual certification of coverage with the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles and will notify the DMV if there ever is lapse in insurance coverage.
An Arlington County DUI conviction can come with many consequences. Having to purchase FR 44 insurance is one of them. If you have questions about consequences of an Arlington DUI charge, do not hesitate to contact Virginia DUI lawyers Carlos Wall and Alex Gordon. The Gordon Law Firm has helped hundreds of good people over the years who have made the mistake and driving after drinking too much alcohol. If you have been charged with a DUI in Arlington County, we look forward to using our knowledge and experience to help you.