What are the punishments for a Felony DUI in Arlington County or Falls Church?
A driver charged with a felony DUI in Arlington or Falls Church can expect the Arlington Commonwealth Attorney's office to be aggressive and ask for harsh penalties.
A third conviction for DUI within a ten-year period in Virginia is a Class 6 felony. A conviction for a DUI in Arlington, if you have ever been conviction previously of a felony DUI, is also a felony (this goes beyond the ten-year period). While a Class 6 felony is the lowest type of felony, it still comes with harsh consequences. Feel welcome to contact Arlington DUI lawyers Alex Gordon and Carlos Wall for a free consultation to get your questions about Felony DUI charges answered.
The punishments for a Arlington Felony DUI conviction can include:
A prison sentence. In Arlington, there is a mandatory minimum prison sentence of six months if the person is convicted of a third DUI offense within five years. The jail sentence is 90 days in jail if the Arlington DUI conviction is within 10 years of two other DUI convictions.
The maximum sentence is five years, but it is rare for someone to actively serve five years for a felony DUI in Arlington. Most Arlington Circuit Court judges will impose more than the minimum sentence for an Arlington DUI, but they will suspend some of that sentence and use it as a condition to ensure a driver's compliance with probation.
If you or a loved one are convicted of a felony DUI in Arlington after having been previously convicted of a felony DUI, the mandatory minimum sentence is one year in a Virginia prison, with a five-year maximum sentence. Arlington judges will treat a convicted driver more harsh if they have prior felony DUI convictions in Virginia.
A felony Arlington DUI conviction also carries a fine up to $2500.00.
A felony conviction for a Arlington DUI charge also affects your civil rights, including your right to vote and to own firearms.
Arlington felony DUI convictions also result in the DMV imposing an indefinite suspension of a person's ability to drive. After three years, the person may petition the Arlington court for a restricted license. The driver must wait 5 years for a full restoration of a Virginia driver's license.
The Gordon Law Firm
The Arlington DUI attorneys at The Gordon Law Firm have decades of experience helping good people that have made mistakes. We have helped more than 3500 people accused of Reckless Driving and DUI in Arlington and throughout northern Virginia. Alex and Carlos look forward to putting their years of experience and skill fighting felony DUI charges in Virginia to work for you.