Often in Northern Virginia people get charged with Driving without a Valid License or No Valid Operators License under Virginia Code Section 46.2-300. Usually this charge is considered to be a Class Two Misdemeanor and as a result, a driver is required to come to court. Judges in Prince William, Loudoun, and Fairfax courts treat violations of 46.2-300 seriously.
The traffic lawyers at The Gordon Law Firm have represented hundred of good people who have been charged with Driving without a valid license in Fairfax and other courts throughout Northern Virginia. Our traffic lawyers Alex Gordon and Carlos Wall are available for a Free Consultation for your No Valid Operator's license charge in Fairfax, Loudoun, Prince William or Arlington county. Contact us today by calling The Gordon Law Firm at 703.218.8416 or text us a copy of the ticket to 703.591.6682.
The Virginia law reads:
46.2-300. Driving without license prohibited
No person, except those expressly exempted in §§ 46.2-303 through 46.2-308, shall drive any motor vehicle on any highway in the Commonwealth until such person has applied for a driver's license, as provided in this article, satisfactorily passed the examination required by § 46.2-325, and obtained a driver's license, nor unless the license is valid.
A violation of this section is a Class 2 misdemeanor. A second or subsequent violation of this section is a Class 1 misdemeanor.
Upon conviction under this section, the court may suspend the person's privilege to drive for a period not to exceed 90 days.
Punishments for having No Valid Operators license or Driving without a Valid License:
For a first offense the punishments can be:
1 day to 6 months in jail; and/or
a Fine of up to $2500.00
A loss of your driving privileges in Virginia for up to 90 days.
If this is a second offense, the matter is treated like a Class One Misdemeanor and the punishments can be:
Between 1 day to 12 months in jail; and/or
a Fine of up to $2500.00
a loss of driving privileges in Virginia up to 90 days.
Defenses to charges of Driving without a Valid Operators license in Virginia
Traffic defense lawyers Alex Gordon and Carlos Wall will be glad to listen to you carefully and discuss the circumstances that led you to be charged by a Virginia law enforcement officer of a violation of 46.2-300.
Often there is simply an oversight that was made by a driver. These mistakes include:
Not renewing a drivers license on time.
Not updating insurance information with the DMV.
A suspension of driving privileges for not paying fines on time.
Not acquiring a Virginia driver's license after moving to Virginia from another state.
Not taking a Driver Improvement course after being required to complete one by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles
Often the traffic attorneys at The Gordon Law Firm can negotiate either a reduction or dismissal of a driving without a valid license charge in Fairfax, Prince William, or Loudoun county if the driver is able to fix and update their license.
Other times, the matter is more difficult. These situations might involve a driver who cannot get a valid license in Virginia because they are still prohibited by the DMV because of a drunk driving conviction or a drug conviction. Other circumstances that are difficult are when a person cannot get a valid Virginia license because they are not an American citizen or they lack legal status to be in the United States.
The Gordon Law Firm is ready to answer any questions you may have about Driving Without a Valid License in Virginia. Call us at 703.218.8416 for a free consultation.