Will I be required to get special DUI insurance under FR 44 after if I am convicted of a Fairfax County DUI charge?

Criminal Defense Attorneys Serving Fairfax, Leesburg & Manassas, Virginia


Will I be required to get special insurance after if convicted of a Fairfax County DUI charge?

If you are convicted of DUI in Fairfax County, you will be required by law to provide the DMV proof of financial responsibility. In layman’s terms, this will require you to contact your insurance company and request they file form FR 44 with the DMV.

You will need to maintain the FR 44 coverage for a period of three years. Virginia Code § 46.2-316 also makes FR 44 insurance a requirement if you are convicted of driving after revocation of your license after a DUI conviction.

What is FR 44 insurance?

FR 44 insurance carries higher limits than minimum limits. Coverage limits for an FR 44 compliant policy are:

  • Bodily injury/death of one person $50,000
  • Bodily injury/death of two or more persons $100,000
  • Property damage $40,000

Additionally, your insurance company will file the annual certification of coverage with the DMV and will notify DMV of a lapse in insurance coverage.

A Fairfax County DUI conviction can come with many unforeseen consequences. FR 44 insurance is one of them. If you have questions about consequences of a Fairfax DUI conviction, do not hesitate to contact Carlos Wall and Alex Gordon. We have helped hundreds of good people over the years who made a mistake and drove after consuming too much alcohol. If you have been charged with a DUI in Fairfax County, we look forward to using our expertise and experience to help you.

Call us today for a Free DUI consultation at 703.218.8416 or contact us at thegordonlawfirm@gmail.com.